Discovering Gabon

Discovering Gabon

Gabon is a country located in Central Africa, crossed by the equator, bordering on the east, south-east and south of the Republic of Congo, north-north-west of Equatorial Guinea and north of Cameroon.
It is a forested country where fauna and flora are still well preserved and protected in thirteen national parks including the Lopé National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
Gabon’s biodiversity is remarkable because the equatorial forest is still relatively well preserved and is undoubtedly one of the highest on the planet with 700 species of birds, 98 species of amphibians, between 95 and 160 species of reptiles, nearly 10,000 species of plants, more than 400 forest species and 198 different species of mammals.
There are many rare animal species such as the Gabonese pangolin, the picatharte, or endemic species such as the sun-tailed cercopithecus…
The country is one of the most varied and important wildlife reserves in Africa: it is an important refuge for chimpanzees and gorillas and has a Gorilla and Chimpanzee Study Station within the Lopé National Park.
Gabon is also home to more than half of Africa’s forest elephant population in the Minkébé National Park!
The country has 13 national parks, covering a total of more than 10% of the country’s territory.

DECOUVRIR LE GABON

DECOUVRIR LE GABON

Le Gabon, en forme longue la République gabonaise, est un pays situé en Afrique centrale, traversé par l’équateur, frontalier à l’est, au sud-est et au sud de la république du Congo, au nord-nord-ouest de la Guinée équatoriale et au nord du Cameroun.

C’est un pays forestier où la faune et la flore sont encore bien conservées et protégées dans treize parcs nationaux dont le parc national de la Lopé, inscrit au patrimoine mondial par l’UNESCO.

La biodiversité gabonaise est remarquable car la forêt équatoriale y est encore relativement bien préservée et est sans doute l’une des plus élevées de la planète avec 700 espèces d’oiseaux, 98 espèces d’amphibiens, entre 95 et 160 espèces de reptiles, près de 10 000 espèces de plantes, plus de 400 essences forestières et 198 espèces différentes de mammifères. 

On y trouve de nombreuses espèces animales rares comme le pangolin du Gabon, le picatharte, ou endémiques tel le cercopithèque à queue de soleil…

Le pays est une des réserves de faune les plus variées et les plus importantes d’Afrique : c’est un important refuge pour les chimpanzés et les Gorilles et dispose d’ailleurs d’une Station d’études des gorilles et chimpanzés, à l’intérieur du parc national de la Lopé.

Le Gabon abrite aussi plus de la moitié de la population des éléphants de forêt d’Afrique, dans le parc national de Minkébé !

Le pays comporte 13 parcs nationaux, couvrant au total plus de 10 % du territoire du pays.